Counseling and Guidance

logo

Counseling and Guidance Services by Position:

School Counselor

  • Oversees all counseling/intervention activities
  • Provides individual and group counseling around social emotional, and academic issues
  • Coordinates Student Intervention Team, (SIT) and 504 Staffings and Parent/Teacher Conferences
  • Serves as parent resource regarding interpretation of academic progress, services available, and parenting skills

School Nurse

  • Assesses the physical and emotional health of students as related to the educational process
  • Provides health counseling to students, parents, and school personnel
  • Works as a member of the multidisciplinary assessment team to assess student health status and make appropriate recommendations for modifications of individualized student education programs.

School Psychologist

  • Conducts psycho-educational assessment (academic, intellectual, perceptual) for students who have been referred for Special Education

Intervention Specialist

  • Provides drug/alcohol screening, prevention, and brief intervention

Academic Intervention Specialist

  • Provides academic support and interventions to struggling students

2016-2017 Counseling and Guidance Team

Ms. Wedemeyer - 6th Grade
arwedemeyer@seattleschools.org
206-252-5083

Reema Ziadeh, M.Ed. - 7th Grade
raziadeh@seattleschools.org
206-252-5103

Larry Christensen, M.S.W. - 8th Grade
lchristensen@seattleschools.org
206-252-5084

Christine Sogn,  M.S.W., CDP, Intervention Specialist
crsogn@seattleschools.org
206-252-5048

Sam Johnson,  Ed.S.NCSP, School Psychologist
stjohnson@seattleschools.org
206-252-5081

Deneen Evans, M.A.T., Academic Intervention Specialist
deevans@seattleschools.org
206-252-5086


Downloadable Resources

© Seattle Public SchoolsWebsite by SchoolMessenger Presence opens a new window. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.